The historic Guildford town hall

I bought a house today.  I didn’t mean to but I felt my hand slip up when the auctioneer called for bids and there was silence in the hall.  I was mortified when I realised what I had done.  My husband wasn’t there and to be honest, I was rather smitten with the handsome young auctioneer.

My girlfriend raised her beautiful eyebrows at me in surprise. She leant over and whispered in my ear.

“We’ll go halves if you like.” I breathed out a sigh of relief, comforted by her words.

It was a beautiful house – two storey, green title and room for a family.

“We won’t keep it. We’ll just give it back,” I whispered back, conscious of the stares. “Besides, it won’t fit in the car.”

It was the kind of house to make a little girl very happy and neither of us had need of a doll’s house.

I looked up at the pretty floral and green bunting in the 1930’s hall.  There were long tables set out  dressed in crisp white tablecloths. We drank tea from china teacups and tasted delicious morsels.  We were at the Esther Foundation high tea, the auction was to raise well-needed funds for the Foundation and it was a joy to be in the historic town hall in the quaint little town of Guildford.

The afternoon was an emotional roller coaster.  We heard stories from girls that brought tears to our eyes and had us fumbling for tissues.  We were entertained by dancing and laughed at a comedy sketch and were serenaded by girls singing of making a change in their lives and a difference in the world.

It was time to come together as a community and support these brave girls as they take steps to overcome the obstacles they have faced in their young lives.  It was time to get together and become part of the Esther family.

The Esther Foundation provides a residential health, development and leadership program for young women to overcome life controlling struggles and issues in a safe, structured and supportive environment. It aims to educate, encourage, empower and enrich young women with self-worth, skills and the confidence to lead successful lives within the community.   The Esther Foundation Inc is a charitable, non-profit organisation and not Government funded.

I bought a house today.  It was the first time I bought a house without my husband and I dare say it won’t be my last. He was rather pleased with the purchase, especially when I didn’t bring it home.

